Zero (1928) .... Mrs. Garth
Somehow Good (1927) .... Rosalind Nightingale
Robinson Crusoe (1927) .... Sophie
London Love (1926) .... Sally Hope
Settled Out of Court (1925) .... The Woman
The Happy Ending (1925) .... Mildred Craddock
The Eleventh Commandment (1924) .... Ruth Barchester
Claude Duval (1924) .... Duchess Frances
The Loves of Mary, Queen of Scots (1923) .... Mary Stuart
This Freedom (1923) .... Rosalie Aubyn
A Bill of Divorcement (1922) .... Margaret Fairfield
... aka A Bill for Divorcement (UK)
Diana of the Crossways (1922) .... Diana
The House of Peril (1922) .... Sylvia Bailey
The Old Wives' Tale (1921) .... Sophie Barnes
A Woman of No Importance (1921) .... Rachel Arbuthnot
Judge Not (1920) .... Nelly
One Summer's Day (1917) .... Maisie
The Labour Leader (1917) .... Diana Hazlitt
She Stoops to Conquer (1914) .... Barmaid
~Fay Compton~

Born: September 18, 1894 in West Kensington, London, England, UK
Died: December 12, 1978 in London, England, UK
~Silent Filmography~
British actress Fay Compton came from a formidable acting lineage; her father was actor/manager
Edward Compton, and her grandfather was 19th-century theatrical luminary Henry Compton.
Starting in the Follies staged by first husband H. G. Pelissier, Fay Compton made her mark in the
plays of J. M. Barrie (of Peter Pan fame). Fay in fact introduced several of Barrie's plays to London
audiences, notably in the title role of Mary Rose in 1920. Active in the classics as well as
contemporary material, Compton had the distinction of playing Ophelia opposite two of the most
celebrated Hamlets, John Barrymore and John Gielgud. The actress' most significant successes in
the 1930s were in two sophisticated comedies by Dodie Smith, Autumn Crocus and Call it a Day; in
1941, she created the role of Ruth in Noel Coward's Blithe Spirit. Compton's film work is not as well
known or as highly regarded as her stage appearances, but she managed to squeeze in a good many
screen roles between her movie debut in She Stoops to Conquer (1914) and her final appearance in
Alex and the Gypsy (1970). The Fay Compton film performances most accessible to American
audiences are Odd Man Out (1947), Laughter in Paradise (1951) Orson Welles' Othello (1952) and
The Haunting (1963)--all made when her ingenue and young-sophisticate roles were behind her and
when she was in her "Lady Bracknell" dowager period. Fay Compton was the mother of British
director Anthony Pelisser, whose most significant film was The Rocking Horse Winner (1951).

Plot Synopsis by Hal Erickson,